Novel Ideas with Russ

The Siren and the Spectre by Jonathan Janz

  Click here to by via Amazon   There are an uncountable number of examples in which a great concept can be foiled with subpar execution.  The Siren and the Spectre is a demonstration of the opposite of this as Johnathan Janz manages to take the oldest concept in horror …

Novel Ideas with Russ

Tamer Animals by Justin M. Woodward

WARNING POSSIBLY, MAYBE, SOMETHING THAT ONE COULD DEEM A SPOILER AHEAD.   What constitutes a spoiler? How many dust jackets give far to many details of the plot or story away?  How many movie trailers hook you by showing key pieces of information to lure  you into watching? Discussing Tamer …

Novel Ideas with Russ

Hark the Herald Angels Scream

Click here to buy via Amazon Pretty typical Anthology ratio here with a few shining stars but mostly filler. Scott Smith Christopher Golden, and Joe Lansdal provide standout tails centered on Christmas. Yankee Swap shines with a Saw style Christmas game. Scott Smith story is a bizarre Christmas Eve and …

Novel Ideas with Russ

Chasing Ghosts by Glenn Rolfe

Click here to purchase via Amazon A solid and entertaining book! In the vein of Brian Keene, Rolfe’s tale reads effortlessly and creates an intriguing world. Although the ending may be a bit abrupt, the ride was certainly fun to get there.. Kin and Off Season may be the two …

Novel Ideas with Russ

Ghost Virus by Graham Masterton

  Click here to order via Amazon   Ghost Virus is perhaps one of the most absurd concepts for a horror book in recent memory. Absurdity alone is not enough to dissuade recommendation of a book, but the absurdity needs to be acknowledged by the audience as well as the …

Novel Ideas with Russ

Dark Screams: Volume Ten

Click here to purchase via Amazon Most anthologies leave me with a feeling of time wasted having read filler material that wasn’t good enough to be worthy of a long form story. Although Dark Screams: Volume Ten didn’t bat .1000, it is certainly one of the strongest anthologies in recent …

Novel Ideas with Russ

Unbury Carol by Josh Malerman

click to purchase via Amazon   Coming off such a success such as Bird Box and Mad Black Wheel is a tough challenge. Unbury Carol fails to reach the high standards set by these and other works by Malerman such as Ghastle and Yule and A House at the Bottom …

Novel Ideas with Russ

Bad Man by Dathan Auerbach

Click here to preorder via Amazon “Bad Man” is methodically and confidently paced. Auerbach leaves breathing room between major events like an auteur filmmaker composing beautiful long establishing shots. With conversational and direct language, the book flows smoothly and without at sense of pretentiousness. The book follows Ben’s life after …

Novel Ideas with Russ

Gods of the Dark Web by Lucas Mangum

Click here to order via Amazon   As a species we’ve left little unexplored.  The true unknown, however, is the man made abyss of the internet hidden behind a digital closed door.  Gods of the Dark Web explores what lurks beyond the visible internet. In a bizarro universe David Cronenberg …

Uncategorized

Most Important Post Ever

So, if a post says TEST.  It really isn’t a test.  Its a super important post that holds the fabric of the podcast together.  Don’t delete it.  I know that because I deleted a post that said TEST and Justin yelled at me. –Russ

Bitnami