Blog
Novel Ideas with Russ

The House by the Cemetery by John Everson

Click here to purchase via Amazon Genre mainstay John Everson’s latest novel features a haunted haunted house. Out of luck and out of work carpenter Mike finds employment in getting the local home townsfolk fear is inhabited by spirits pieced together enough for the county to turn it into a …

Read More

Episode 88 – Trick or Treat & Trick ‘r Treat

Episode 88 – Trick or Treat & Trick ‘r Treat
ReMake Me

 
 
00:00 /
 
1X
 

Russ can’t remember the last time we recorded, Justin had a really bad week, mouth unpleasantness, Russ’s escapades in Austin with Ben and Bruce, the eavesdropping seat-mate, Ben’s on keto, Matt Shaw follows through on his dead arm challenge with Wrath James White, adventures in escape rooms, fat looks like …

Read More

Episode 87 – Tales from the Hood & Tales from the Darkside

Episode 87 – Tales from the Hood & Tales from the Darkside
ReMake Me

 
 
00:00 /
 
1X
 

Russ’s brother is a car whisperer, Justin tells the story of the man who got licked by a dog and got De-Voltroned, Komodo Dragons be scary yo, hyenas on a leash are crazy but komodo dragons on a leash would take away from the craziness, the sky has opened up, …

Read More

Episode 86 – Evil Dead (1981 & 2013)

Episode 86 – Evil Dead (1981 & 2013)
ReMake Me

 
 
00:00 /
 
1X
 

Justin got to hang out with the cool nerds on the Internet, Russ doesn’t know what Slack is, Old Man Russ rears his ugly head again, Russ gets a free pass from his wife but will probably be boring, Russ worries about his prostitutes, Justin still doesn’t know if Evil …

Read More
Novel Ideas with Russ

We Sold Our Souls by Grady Hendrix

Click here to purchase via Amazon   On par with Hendrix’s other highly acclaimed books, We Sold Our Souls is a fun rock and roll devil influenced tale. An almost-been, Kris narrowly missed game and fortune. What could have been and why wasn’t it? Recommended for the horror fan as …

Read More
Novel Ideas with Russ

The Siren and the Spectre by Jonathan Janz

  Click here to by via Amazon   There are an uncountable number of examples in which a great concept can be foiled with subpar execution.  The Siren and the Spectre is a demonstration of the opposite of this as Johnathan Janz manages to take the oldest concept in horror …

Read More

Episode 85 – Friday the 13th V & Halloween 3

Episode 85 – Friday the 13th V & Halloween 3
ReMake Me

 
 
00:00 /
 
1X
 

Justin had a bit of a scary week but everything is better now, Mom’s cigarette purse, smoking sections don’t really exist anymore, Justin’s foray into internet light bulbs, Russ’s face suddenly explodes and tries to play Tommy Topper, Russ’s little booty, orthopedic urgent care is apparently a thing, step-dad vs. …

Read More

Episode 84 – People Under the Stairs & Don’t Breathe

Episode 84 – People Under the Stairs & Don’t Breathe
ReMake Me

 
 
00:00 /
 
1X
 

Russ doesn’t know what tone is, Justin tries his best to explain Next week: Friday the 13th V & Halloween 3 Subscribe on iTunes – http://apple.co/2fMoRWH Subscribe on Google Play – http://bit.ly/2yDTdT8 Subscribe on Breaker – https://www.breaker.audio/remake-me Like us on Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/ReMakeMePodcast Follow us on Twitter – https://twitter.com/ReMakeMePodcast

Read More

Episode 83 – Microwave Massacre & The Greasy Strangler

Episode 83 – Microwave Massacre & The Greasy Strangler
ReMake Me

 
 
00:00 /
 
1X
 

We have a new guest!, Bruce is here and the government is tracking his every move, Tom Kerosec is opened up for Soul Asylum, beating the google algorithms, Bruce makes Saxophone Ryan, Russ’s not-date, Bruce HEARTS Ryan according to a shirt Russ made, Justin doesn’t understand not getting married, marriage …

Read More

Episode 82 – Troll & Tremors & The Weird

Episode 82 – Troll & Tremors & The Weird
ReMake Me

 
 
00:00 /
 
1X
 

Stay tuned for an interview with Matt Shaw – author of The Weird, Justin sounds crunchy, we’re in a book!, how to hire an editor, “It’s not a fedora!” is the saddest argument ever, Russ’s problems getting his friends in trouble, Russ doesn’t understand pus, it sucks not being a …

Read More
Novel Ideas with Russ
Creature by Hunter Shea

Click here to buy via Amazon Creature seems to be dividing readers in grand fashion. Two camps seem to be developing : one starting that the book is genius in it’s slow burn study that comes to a boil and exploding like a volcano. Others have found it tedious and …

Novel Ideas with Russ
The House by the Cemetery by John Everson

Click here to purchase via Amazon Genre mainstay John Everson’s latest novel features a haunted haunted house. Out of luck and out of work carpenter Mike finds employment in getting the local home townsfolk fear is inhabited by spirits pieced together enough for the county to turn it into a …

Novel Ideas with Russ
We Sold Our Souls by Grady Hendrix

Click here to purchase via Amazon   On par with Hendrix’s other highly acclaimed books, We Sold Our Souls is a fun rock and roll devil influenced tale. An almost-been, Kris narrowly missed game and fortune. What could have been and why wasn’t it? Recommended for the horror fan as …

Novel Ideas with Russ
The Siren and the Spectre by Jonathan Janz

  Click here to by via Amazon   There are an uncountable number of examples in which a great concept can be foiled with subpar execution.  The Siren and the Spectre is a demonstration of the opposite of this as Johnathan Janz manages to take the oldest concept in horror …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Tamer Animals by Justin M. Woodward

WARNING POSSIBLY, MAYBE, SOMETHING THAT ONE COULD DEEM A SPOILER AHEAD.   What constitutes a spoiler? How many dust jackets give far to many details of the plot or story away?  How many movie trailers hook you by showing key pieces of information to lure  you into watching? Discussing Tamer …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Hark the Herald Angels Scream

Click here to buy via Amazon Pretty typical Anthology ratio here with a few shining stars but mostly filler. Scott Smith Christopher Golden, and Joe Lansdal provide standout tails centered on Christmas. Yankee Swap shines with a Saw style Christmas game. Scott Smith story is a bizarre Christmas Eve and …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Chasing Ghosts by Glenn Rolfe

Click here to purchase via Amazon A solid and entertaining book! In the vein of Brian Keene, Rolfe’s tale reads effortlessly and creates an intriguing world. Although the ending may be a bit abrupt, the ride was certainly fun to get there.. Kin and Off Season may be the two …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Ghost Virus by Graham Masterton

  Click here to order via Amazon   Ghost Virus is perhaps one of the most absurd concepts for a horror book in recent memory. Absurdity alone is not enough to dissuade recommendation of a book, but the absurdity needs to be acknowledged by the audience as well as the …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Dark Screams: Volume Ten

Click here to purchase via Amazon Most anthologies leave me with a feeling of time wasted having read filler material that wasn’t good enough to be worthy of a long form story. Although Dark Screams: Volume Ten didn’t bat .1000, it is certainly one of the strongest anthologies in recent …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Unbury Carol by Josh Malerman

click to purchase via Amazon   Coming off such a success such as Bird Box and Mad Black Wheel is a tough challenge. Unbury Carol fails to reach the high standards set by these and other works by Malerman such as Ghastle and Yule and A House at the Bottom …

Bitnami