Blog

Episode 66 – Ben & Deadly Eyes

Justin isn’t helpful, Russ doesn’t think Justin’s Bitmoji looks at all like him, Russ’s phone beeps again, creating wrestlers in video games, Vegas under 21, Justin tries to teach Russ about alcohol, Thor Ragnarok is great, Russ got new shoes and he is complaining, Justin has to vamp while Russ …

Read More

Episode 65 – Willard (1971 & 2003)

Justin brings the banter, Russ has a bone to pick, Justin proffers his secret to weight loss, something to look forward to for a future episode, there’s a new Leprechaun movie on Syfy tonight, weird theme music that the editor loved, Ernest Borgnine’s secret to youth, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hk1T9XC3XPc, Talk Soup was …

Read More

Episode 64 – Night of the Demons (1988 & 2009)

Russ’s kids make him drink, nugget math, horror news, Justin’s house now contains seven cats and a dog, Russ confuses Chinese and Japanese again, daddy does drugs, the gauntlet is thrown down!, ruining Russ’s passion, mooning with your underwear on, what America is all about, maybe us dorks have had …

Read More

Episode 63 – Red State & Tusk

Justin’s room smells funny, gay animals, it turns out Russ doesn’t quite understand why some kid’s dad isn’t as good at coaching as a professional coach, elbow to the knee, playing pretend or making fun of a special needs child?, Justin tells the saddest story he’s ever told on the …

Read More
Novel Ideas with Russ

Dark Screams: Volume Ten

Click here to purchase via Amazon Most anthologies leave me with a feeling of time wasted having read filler material that wasn’t good enough to be worthy of a long form story. Although Dark Screams: Volume Ten didn’t bat .1000, it is certainly one of the strongest anthologies in recent …

Read More
Novel Ideas with Russ

Unbury Carol by Josh Malerman

click to purchase via Amazon   Coming off such a success such as Bird Box and Mad Black Wheel is a tough challenge. Unbury Carol fails to reach the high standards set by these and other works by Malerman such as Ghastle and Yule and A House at the Bottom …

Read More

Episode 62 – Monster in the Closet & A Nightmare on Elm Street 2: Freddy’s Revenge

Russ fell down and went boom, old man eyebrows are crazy, little Paul Walker, Dick Clark am I right?, is there any greater joy than spotting a boom mic in a bad movie?, cockroaches are gross, fiveshadowing, I hope you like xylophones, Power Ranger explosions, Jason Statham is great, the …

Read More
Novel Ideas with Russ

Bad Man by Dathan Auerbach

Click here to preorder via Amazon “Bad Man” is methodically and confidently paced. Auerbach leaves breathing room between major events like an auteur filmmaker composing beautiful long establishing shots. With conversational and direct language, the book flows smoothly and without at sense of pretentiousness. The book follows Ben’s life after …

Read More

Episode 61 – Evil Altar & Soultaker (with Lucas Mangum)

We have a real interview with an author this episode, Justin tries to sing and rap and fails at both, a new podcast on the horizon?, Pokemon Go is discussed more than it probably should have been, Russ kicks himself in the crotch, the least helpful vet tech ever, more …

Read More

Episode 60 – Zodiac & Se7en

Russ does the audio, scared of spiders, looking for other Pokemon Raiders, Valentine’s Day, read between the lines, Russ can’t handle good movies, should Zodiac exist?, Justin likes puzzles (and the movie Zodiac), don’t draw and drive, RDJ, RDJ, RDJ, playing Hollywood executive, best Forensic Files ever made, Sally Jesse …

Read More
Novel Ideas with Russ
Hark the Herald Angels Scream

Click here to buy via Amazon Pretty typical Anthology ratio here with a few shining stars but mostly filler. Scott Smith Christopher Golden, and Joe Lansdal provide standout tails centered on Christmas. Yankee Swap shines with a Saw style Christmas game. Scott Smith story is a bizarre Christmas Eve and …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Chasing Ghosts by Glenn Rolfe

Click here to purchase via Amazon A solid and entertaining book! In the vein of Brian Keene, Rolfe’s tale reads effortlessly and creates an intriguing world. Although the ending may be a bit abrupt, the ride was certainly fun to get there.. Kin and Off Season may be the two …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Ghost Virus by Graham Masterton

  Click here to order via Amazon   Ghost Virus is perhaps one of the most absurd concepts for a horror book in recent memory. Absurdity alone is not enough to dissuade recommendation of a book, but the absurdity needs to be acknowledged by the audience as well as the …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Dark Screams: Volume Ten

Click here to purchase via Amazon Most anthologies leave me with a feeling of time wasted having read filler material that wasn’t good enough to be worthy of a long form story. Although Dark Screams: Volume Ten didn’t bat .1000, it is certainly one of the strongest anthologies in recent …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Unbury Carol by Josh Malerman

click to purchase via Amazon   Coming off such a success such as Bird Box and Mad Black Wheel is a tough challenge. Unbury Carol fails to reach the high standards set by these and other works by Malerman such as Ghastle and Yule and A House at the Bottom …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Bad Man by Dathan Auerbach

Click here to preorder via Amazon “Bad Man” is methodically and confidently paced. Auerbach leaves breathing room between major events like an auteur filmmaker composing beautiful long establishing shots. With conversational and direct language, the book flows smoothly and without at sense of pretentiousness. The book follows Ben’s life after …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Gods of the Dark Web by Lucas Mangum

Click here to order via Amazon   As a species we’ve left little unexplored.  The true unknown, however, is the man made abyss of the internet hidden behind a digital closed door.  Gods of the Dark Web explores what lurks beyond the visible internet. In a bizarro universe David Cronenberg …

Uncategorized
Most Important Post Ever

So, if a post says TEST.  It really isn’t a test.  Its a super important post that holds the fabric of the podcast together.  Don’t delete it.  I know that because I deleted a post that said TEST and Justin yelled at me. –Russ

Bitnami