Unbury Carol by Josh Malerman

Novel Ideas with Russ

click to purchase via Amazon

 

Coming off such a success such as Bird Box and Mad Black Wheel is a tough challenge.

Unbury Carol fails to reach the high standards set by these and other works by Malerman such as Ghastle and Yule and A House at the Bottom of a Lake.

The concept of the book is intriguing. A woman seemingly dies dozens of times through her life. Her husband takes advantage of her deep coma and plots to bury her alive. Hence, Unbury Carol.

Unbury Carol seems like an imitation of a Robert McCammon novel complete with oddball characters, hitmen, and gunslingers. Malerman is a true talent who has dozens of more great books in him, this just isnt one of them.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Novel Ideas with Russ
Tamer Animals by Justin M. Woodward

WARNING POSSIBLY, MAYBE, SOMETHING THAT ONE COULD DEEM A SPOILER AHEAD.   What constitutes a spoiler? How many dust jackets give far to many details of the plot or story away?¬† How many movie trailers hook you by showing key pieces of information to lure¬† you into watching? Discussing Tamer …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Hark the Herald Angels Scream

Click here to buy via Amazon Pretty typical Anthology ratio here with a few shining stars but mostly filler. Scott Smith Christopher Golden, and Joe Lansdal provide standout tails centered on Christmas. Yankee Swap shines with a Saw style Christmas game. Scott Smith story is a bizarre Christmas Eve and …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Chasing Ghosts by Glenn Rolfe

Click here to purchase via Amazon A solid and entertaining book! In the vein of Brian Keene, Rolfe’s tale reads effortlessly and creates an intriguing world. Although the ending may be a bit abrupt, the ride was certainly fun to get there.. Kin and Off Season may be the two …

Bitnami