Hark the Herald Angels Scream

Novel Ideas with Russ

Click here to buy via Amazon

Pretty typical Anthology ratio here with a few shining stars but mostly filler. Scott Smith Christopher Golden, and Joe Lansdal provide standout tails centered on Christmas.

Yankee Swap shines with a Saw style Christmas game.

Scott Smith story is a bizarre Christmas Eve and gift-giving set in Spain.

Joe Lansdale provides a typical ghost story written with a deft hand.

Christopher Golden creates a new Mythos centered around Christmas in Hollywood.

Certainly not a must-read but far from disposable.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Novel Ideas with Russ
The Siren and the Spectre by Jonathan Janz

  Click here to by via Amazon   There are an uncountable number of examples in which a great concept can be foiled with subpar execution.  The Siren and the Spectre is a demonstration of the opposite of this as Johnathan Janz manages to take the oldest concept in horror …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Tamer Animals by Justin M. Woodward

WARNING POSSIBLY, MAYBE, SOMETHING THAT ONE COULD DEEM A SPOILER AHEAD.   What constitutes a spoiler? How many dust jackets give far to many details of the plot or story away?  How many movie trailers hook you by showing key pieces of information to lure  you into watching? Discussing Tamer …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Chasing Ghosts by Glenn Rolfe

Click here to purchase via Amazon A solid and entertaining book! In the vein of Brian Keene, Rolfe’s tale reads effortlessly and creates an intriguing world. Although the ending may be a bit abrupt, the ride was certainly fun to get there.. Kin and Off Season may be the two …

Bitnami