Blog

Episode 1 – The Fly

Episode 1 – The Fly

 
 
00:00 /
 
1X
 

Justin and Russ bypass the typical “inaugural” episode banter and dive right in.  Russ had a rough day filled with 911 calls and fatherly duties.  Justin fails at a horror quiz.  They get around to discussing The Fly and Cronenberg’s masterpiece.  Next week: Green Inferno & Cannibal Holocaust.

Read More

Episode 0 – Introduction

Episode 0 – Introduction
ReMake Me

 
 
00:00 / 2:19
 
1X
 

Welcome to ReMake Me! Join us on January 4, 2017 when it all kicks off!

Read More
Novel Ideas with Russ
Creature by Hunter Shea

Click here to buy via Amazon Creature seems to be dividing readers in grand fashion. Two camps seem to be developing : one starting that the book is genius in it’s slow burn study that comes to a boil and exploding like a volcano. Others have found it tedious and …

Novel Ideas with Russ
The House by the Cemetery by John Everson

Click here to purchase via Amazon Genre mainstay John Everson’s latest novel features a haunted haunted house. Out of luck and out of work carpenter Mike finds employment in getting the local home townsfolk fear is inhabited by spirits pieced together enough for the county to turn it into a …

Novel Ideas with Russ
We Sold Our Souls by Grady Hendrix

Click here to purchase via Amazon   On par with Hendrix’s other highly acclaimed books, We Sold Our Souls is a fun rock and roll devil influenced tale. An almost-been, Kris narrowly missed game and fortune. What could have been and why wasn’t it? Recommended for the horror fan as …

Novel Ideas with Russ
The Siren and the Spectre by Jonathan Janz

  Click here to by via Amazon   There are an uncountable number of examples in which a great concept can be foiled with subpar execution.  The Siren and the Spectre is a demonstration of the opposite of this as Johnathan Janz manages to take the oldest concept in horror …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Tamer Animals by Justin M. Woodward

WARNING POSSIBLY, MAYBE, SOMETHING THAT ONE COULD DEEM A SPOILER AHEAD.   What constitutes a spoiler? How many dust jackets give far to many details of the plot or story away?  How many movie trailers hook you by showing key pieces of information to lure  you into watching? Discussing Tamer …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Hark the Herald Angels Scream

Click here to buy via Amazon Pretty typical Anthology ratio here with a few shining stars but mostly filler. Scott Smith Christopher Golden, and Joe Lansdal provide standout tails centered on Christmas. Yankee Swap shines with a Saw style Christmas game. Scott Smith story is a bizarre Christmas Eve and …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Chasing Ghosts by Glenn Rolfe

Click here to purchase via Amazon A solid and entertaining book! In the vein of Brian Keene, Rolfe’s tale reads effortlessly and creates an intriguing world. Although the ending may be a bit abrupt, the ride was certainly fun to get there.. Kin and Off Season may be the two …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Ghost Virus by Graham Masterton

  Click here to order via Amazon   Ghost Virus is perhaps one of the most absurd concepts for a horror book in recent memory. Absurdity alone is not enough to dissuade recommendation of a book, but the absurdity needs to be acknowledged by the audience as well as the …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Dark Screams: Volume Ten

Click here to purchase via Amazon Most anthologies leave me with a feeling of time wasted having read filler material that wasn’t good enough to be worthy of a long form story. Although Dark Screams: Volume Ten didn’t bat .1000, it is certainly one of the strongest anthologies in recent …

Novel Ideas with Russ
Unbury Carol by Josh Malerman

click to purchase via Amazon   Coming off such a success such as Bird Box and Mad Black Wheel is a tough challenge. Unbury Carol fails to reach the high standards set by these and other works by Malerman such as Ghastle and Yule and A House at the Bottom …

Bitnami